Special Called Board Meeting Minutes

DATE: June 24, 2020

PRESENT: Chair Betsy Flanagan, Vice Chair Melinda Fagundus, Amy Cole, Tracy Everette-Lenz, Anna Barrett Smith

PRESENT REMOTELY: Caroline W. Doherty, Benjie Forrest, Worth Forbes

ABSENT: Mary Blount Williams

ALSO PRESENT: Dr. Ethan Lenker

IN-HOUSE COUNSEL: Emma J. Hodson

TIME: 8:30 A.M.

PLACE: Carolina Room, The Kathy Taft Center, 2010 Allen Road, Greenville, NC 27834 and via ZOOM

Chair Betsy Flanagan opened the Special Called Board meeting at 8:30 a.m. in the Carolina Room in the Kathy Taft Center located at 2010 Allen Road, Greenville, NC 27834.

Worth Forbes made a motion to approve the Agenda as presented with a second from Benjie Forrest. With no discussion needed, the Agenda passed unanimously.

Debra Baggett, Chief Finance Officer shared Budget Amendment #2 information with the Board members and requested approval. Benjie Forrest made a motion to approve Budget Amendment #2 with a second from Worth Forbes. After some discussion, the motion to approve Budget Amendment #2 passed unanimously.

Chair Flanagan presented the personnel report for June 24, 2020 and requested approval from the Board members. With no discussion needed, Anna Barrett Smith made a motion to approve the June 24, 2020 personnel report with a second from Vice Chair Melinda Fagundus. The motion to approve the personnel report passed unanimously.

Superintendent Dr. Ethan Lenker discussed House Bill 1225 with the Board members. Due to student overcrowding, Dr. Lenker requested approval to purchase two mobile units, one to be used at Hope Middle School and one to be used at Ridgewood Elementary, from the Board members. After some Minutes Recorder: Carol Rankin discussion, Melinda Fagundus made a motion to give Dr. Lenker authorization to purchase two mobile units with a second from Anna Barrett Smith. The motion to give Dr. Lenker authorization to purchase two mobile units passed unanimously.

Closed Session

Vice Chair Fagundus made a motion to enter into Closed Session with a second from Anna Barrett Smith. The motion to enter into Closed Session passed unanimously. The time was 8:56 a.m.

Return to Open Session

Vice Chair Fagundus made a motion to return to Open Session with a second from Amy Cole. The motion to return to open session passed unanimously. The time was 9:07 a.m.

Adjourn

Benjie Forrest made a motion to adjourn with a second from Caroline Doherty. The motion to adjourn passed unanimously. The time was 9:07 a.m.

Respectfully Submitted,

Elizabeth M. Flanagan, Chair

Dr. Ethan Lenker, Secretary